AYER -- The Sandy Pond Schoolhouse, nestled into the corner of Sandy Pond and Westford Roads in Ayer, was open for public viewing on a recent Sunday. Dozens streamed through the door to take a walk through yesteryear.

Sandy Pond School Association member Patricia Dougenik doubled as teacher for the day, pointing out different features of the old schoolhouse.

The first Sandy Pond School was built by the town of Groton in 1792. The school was known and numbered as School District #11. The original structure was built with wood in 1792.

The school burned down in 1850, but was rebuilt in brick in 1862. The cost of that new brick structure was $1,281.81. In 1906, the Sandy Pond Schoolhouse was closed.

The association opens the schoolhouse one day per year for the public to tour the building. Tax-deductible donations are being accepted to help the association open the old schoolhouse and save for restoration work. The mailing address is: Sandy Pond School Association Inc., P.O. Box 693, Ayer, MA 01432. Or donate online at www.sandypondschoolhouse.com.

Follow Mary Arata at twitter.com/maryearata and facebook.com/mary.arata. More pictures on facebook.com/nashobapub.


Advertisement